Baltimore City’s Red Light Camera Program to Begin Issuing Fines on August 30th

Red Light Camera 30-day Warning Period is set to end  

The Baltimore City Department of Transportation would like to remind motorists that the red light camera violation warning period, which ran from July 31, 2017 through August 29, 2017 is coming to an end.  On Wednesday, August 30, 2017 at 12:00 a.m., we will begin issuing $75.00 fines for all automated red light violations.

The Red Light Camera Monitoring System consists of stationary cameras that use sensors working in conjunction with traffic control signals to record images of motor vehicles entering an intersection during a red light signal phase.  Photos and videos are taken from the rear of the vehicle with the red light signal visible, both before the vehicle enters the intersection and while it is traveling through it.  The red light enforcement cameras are operational 24 hours a day, every day of the year.

The eight red light cameras presently operating in Baltimore City include:  

  1. Reisterstown Road (Southbound) at Patterson Avenue
  2. East North Avenue (Westbound) at North Howard Street
  3. South Monroe Street (Northbound) at Washington Boulevard
  4. South Monroe Street (Southbound) at Washington Boulevard
  5. Belair Road (Southbound) at Erdman Avenue
  6. Erdman Avenue (Eastbound) at Belair Road
  7. Pulaski Highway (Eastbound) at North Point Road          
  8. North Calvert Street (Northbound) at East Baltimore Street

Information about the city’s automated traffic violation enforcement programs, including lists of red light and speed camera locations, can be found on the Department of Transportation’s website at  Citizens can also find answers to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) and information on how to pay a violation.


Baltimore City Department of Transportation:

“Keeping Baltimore Moving Safely”


Related Stories

Edmondson Avenue Bridge Lane Closures

Lane closures will be implemented along the Edmondson Avenue Bridge for construction activities. 

Traffic Modifications For Flower Mart

In preparation for the event, the following streets will be closed to through traffic beginning at 3:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 03, 2018 until 12:00 a.m. on Sunday, May 06, 2018: Charles Street from Centre to Read Streets, Madison Street from St. Paul to Cathedral Streets, Vernon Place from St. Paul to Cathedral to Streets 

Department of Transportation Launches Comprehensive Safety Campaign Aimed at Reducing Accidents on City Streets

Educational and enforcement campaign will raise awareness about dangerous driving habits. Today, Mayor Catherine Pugh was joined by Department of Transportation Director Michelle Pourciau and partners announce the launch of a new Traffic Safety Campaign in Baltimore City.